Administration

Dr. Chen-Ching Liu

ESI Center Director

Boeing Distinguished Professor of Electrical Engineering

Liu is a Fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers. He is an international leader recognized for his pioneering contributions to the development of decision support systems for power systems. Liu received his Ph.D. from the University of California, Berkeley, and has held academic and administrative posts at the University of Washington, Iowa State University, and University College Dublin. He is a recipient of the IEEE PES Outstanding Power Engineering Educator Award in 2004. Dr. Liu is a member or the U.S. National Academies Board on Global Science and Technology.

 

Jody Opheim

ESI Center Manager

 Jody Opheim has more than a decade of experience in higher education fundraising, including major gift solicitations, annual fund programs, proposal writing, prospect research, board development, and donor stewardship. She has worked closely with the region’s utilities and energy-related companies to build awareness and support for the WSU Power Systems Engineering Program and ESI Center. Jody earned her bachelor’s degree in marketing from the University of Missouri-Columbia and has held development and administrative positions at the University of Missouri, University of Idaho, and Washington State University.

Steering Committee

Dave Bakken
Professor
Smart grid communications bakken@wsu.edu
Anjan Bose
Regents Professor
Power system operation and control bose@wsu.edu
Brent Carper
Instructor
Power system protection and control brent.carper@wsu.edu
Anamika Dubey
Assistant Professor
Smart grid analytics, operation and planning anamika.dubey@wsu.edu
Adam Hahn
Assistant Professor
Cyber-Physical systems a.hahn@wsu.edu
Carl Hauser
Associate Professor
Cybersecurity for smart grid chauser@wsu.edu
Tosh Kakar
Clinical Professor
  tosh@eecs.wsu.edu
Chen-Ching Liu
Boeing Distinguished Professor
Decision support systems for power systems liu@eecs.wsu.edu
Saeed Lotfifard
Assistant Professor
Power system protection and control slotfifa@eecs.wsu.edu
Ali Mehrizi-Sani
Assistant Professor
Renewable energy integration mehrizi@eecs.wsu.edu
Bob Olsen
Professor
EMF study and detection bgolsen@wsu.edu
Anurag Srivastava
Associate Professor
Smart grid stability and security asrivast@eecs.wsu.edu
Mani Venkatasubramanian
Professor
Oscillation monitoring/detection systems mani@eecs.wsu.edu
Sijie Chen
Post-Doctoral Fellow
Power system operation and control sijie.chen@wsu.edu
Yin Xu
Post-Doctoral Fellow
Decision support systems for power systems yxu2@eecs.wsu.edu

 

Affiliated Faculty

Applicable Research Area Name Home Department E-mail Address
Hydrology Jennifer Adam Civil/Environ Eng jcadam@wsu.edu
http://hydro.cee.wsu.edu/index.htm

Earth systems modeling; hydrologic impacts of global change; land/atmosphere interactions; water resources engineering; sustainable development in water resources; and hydroclimatology

Computational Nanoscience Soumik Banerjee Mech/Mat'l Eng soumik.banerjee@wsu.edu
http://www.mme.wsu.edu/~sbanerjee/

Nanoscale transport phenomena; molecular modeling of materials, organic photovoltaic solar cells, modeling electrolytes in Li batteries; synthesis and properties of carbon nanostructures

Integrated Design  Todd Beyreuther Arch/Const Mgmt Beyreuther@wsu.edu
http://sustainabledesign.wsu.edu/?page_id=236

Building and site energy efficiency design measures; interdisciplinary and open-source design methodologies; integrated building and infrastructure systems design; and interactive and flexible architectural environments

       
Risk Communication Amanda Boyd Communication amanda.boyd@wsu.edu
http://murrow.wsu.edu/directory/faculty/amanda-boyd
Examining how rural communities and the general public perceive energy systems development (such as carbon capture and storage, nuclear power plants and hydro-electric projects) and how this impacts support for or opposition to technology development and implementation.
       
Smart Home/Environments Diane Cook EECS cook@eecs.wsu.edu
http://ailab.eecs.wsu.edu/

Artificial intelligence, machine learning, data mining, robotics, smart environments, and parallel algorithms for artificial intelligence

Dynamical Networks Sandip Roy EECS sandip@wsu.edu
http://www.eecs.wsu.edu/~sroy/

Control and design in large-scale dynamical networks; application areas include sensor and vehicle networking, market pricing system, and electric power system analysis

       
High Voltage Pat Pedrow EECS pedrow@wsu.edu
http://www.eecs.wsu.edu/~pedrow/research.htm
Plasma processing, plasma-polymerized thin films, fabrication of supported catalysts, optimization of corona performance of high voltage hardware, corona power loss on HVdc transmission lines
       
Network-on-Chip Partha Pande EECS partha_pande@wsu.edu
http://eecs.wsu.edu/~pande/research.htm
Network on Chip (NoC); on-chip wireless communication network, reliable and low power NoC, three dimensional (3D) NoC, network-on-chip hardware accelerators for Biocomputing
       
Pervasive Computing Behrooz Shirazi EECS shirazi@wsu.edu
http://www.cea.wsu.edu/shirazi
Distributed computing, pervasive computing, software tools, distributed real-time systems, scheduling and load balancing, and parallel systems
       
Air Quality & Climate Change Brian Lamb Lab for Atmospheric Res blamb@wsu.edu
http://www.lar.wsu.edu
Atmospheric pollutant transport, effects of global change on regional air quality, biogenic trace gas emissions, and methods for measuring biosphere/atmosphere exchange
Bio Fuels/NARA Mike Wolcott Civil/Env Eng Wolcott@wsu.edu
http://sustainabledesign.wsu.edu/

Sustainability of the biofuels supply chain, development of new biobased resins and plastics and natural fiber composites and biopolymers, and development of advanced materials to improve durability, reduce manufacturing costs and pollution, and improve structural performance

       
Hydrogen/Nuclear Jake Leachman Mech/Mat’l Eng               Jacob.leachman@wsu.edu
http://www.mme.wsu.edu/people/faculty/faculty.html?leachman
Hydrogen and methane custody exchange, storage, and property modeling; fueling of vehicles and fusion energy machines; cryogenic and thermal energy storage; energy conversion devices
       
Nanotechnology Grant Norton Mech/Mat’l Eng mg_norton@wsu.edu
http://www.mme.wsu.edu/people/faculty/faculty.html?norton
Ceramic materials, nanotechnology, and clean technology
       
       
Fuel Cells Su Ha Chem Eng suha@wsu.edu
http://www.che.wsu.edu/faculty/SHa.html

Bio fuel cell catalysts, low temperature fuel cell catalysts, high temperature fuel cell and reforming catalysts, fuel cell model/diagnostic MRI measurement

       
Cognitive Behavior Paul Whitney Psychology pwhitney@wsu.edu

http://www.wsu.edu/psychology/facultystaff/experimental/facultypages/whitney.html

Cognitive neuroscience; effects of fatigue and cognitive load on risky decision making; use of feedback to improve decision making performance

       
Economics Alan Love (chair) Economics a.love@wsu.edu

http://cahnrs-cms.wsu.edu/ses/research/Pages/default.aspx

Mergers and acquisitions; price fixing and other antitrust issues in energy, chemical, agricultural and natural resource industries; econometric and other models to evaluate effects of strategic behavior on market structure and conduct, including pricing; evaluation of intellectual property contained in multi-attribute products; preparation of evidence for price arbitration; and evaluation of economic damages

       
Public Policy/Transportation Ken Casavant Economics casavantk@wsu.edu
http://www.trg.wsu.edu/mission.htm

Transportation economics and policy; international trade; marketing; industrial organization

       
Computer Simulation Models/Energy Policy Andy Ford Earth/Env Sciences forda@wsu.edu
http://public.wsu.edu~forda/

Computer simulation modeling with an emphasis on energy policy and environmental problems in the western USA

       
Social Norms, Theory & Group Processes Christine Horne Sociology chorne@wsu.edu

http://libarts.wsu.edu/soc/people/chorne/

Research focuses on social norms - how they emerge, what makes them effective, and what their relation is to law; theoretically driven research that uses experimental methods to evaluate theoretical predictions; collaborative projects that apply theoretical insights to explain naturally occurring norms

       
Intelligent Agents Matt Taylor EECS taylorm@eecs.wsu.edu
http://eecs.wsu.edu/~taylorm/

Intelligent agents, multi-agent systems, reinforcement learning, and transfer learning

       
Environment/Hydropower John Petrie Civil/Environ Eng j.petrie@wsu.edu

http://www.ce.wsu.edu/Faculty_Staff/Profiles/petrie.htm

Riverbank erosion and stability; field measurements of river flow and sediment; computational fluid dynamics; impact of hydropower operations on river morphology and ecology; environmental impacts of in-stream hydrokinetic energy generation

The Global Campus, PO Box 645220, Washington State University, Pullman WA 99164-5220, 800-222-4978, 509-335-3557, Contact Us
Copyright © 2017 Board of Regents, Washington State University | Accessibility | Policies | Copyright